Fourth quarter financial announcement Shentel earnings New acquisition Big Sandy Broadband PowerHouse 1 Gbps 1 Gig High-speed Internet Fortune Fastest growing award Shenandoah Top 100 NCTC Cable Board of Directors Hurricane weather Second Quarter Earnings Release Food Drive Backpack Program Fiber community B2B Business Internet first quarter Q4 Year End Shenandoah Telecommunications Company Finance 2017 150Mbps Grantsville Marlinton Hitron WiFi WallToWall TiVo Gateway Sprint Affiliate USTelecom revenue RGU environment hybrid Shenandoah Telecommunications Rural Retreat Senior Vice President CFO Q3 Buchanan Botetourt County Fiber Optic Network PCS Network 4G LTE migration nTelos Q2 results Cablefax Top Ops Top Operator NY MacKenzie Earle MacKenzie retire Google phishing Wireline Wireless expansion Parkersburg WV Spring clearning computer spring Huntington Cumberland Daylight Savings Time DST Fast Time spring forward fall back Safety Internet Safety Fiber network fiber optics West Virginia Virginia Pennsylvania bandwidth infrastructure Quaglio new board member director elected Big Give philanthropy Shentel employees donation help helping seniors Christmas giving Longwood University basketball digital channel 81 Big South Network wireless segment Dividend Sunspot pixilate solar interruption cable TV Shentel Cable Vice President Kaine Pence Debate Longwood Hampden-Sydney Harrisonburg City Schools Harrisonburg dark fiber Board board member West Virginia Floods disaster disaster relief donations Forbes Most Trustworthy Financials Growth FCC 6th largest wireless carrier Shentel PCS Kyle Chris Kyle Pre-pay Financial Report RGUs Colane Shentel purchases Colane Omar AMC The Walking Dead WEtv IFC contract increase three-times AMC Networks BBC email scam scammers hack hackers Shenandoah County cable modem Internet Service DSL Naked DSL Washington Brooks Sibert Folk promotions Pirtle McKay Whitaker net income segments awards commonwealth students Forest Appomattox New Market Rocky Mount Christiansburg Foundation Scholarships VCTA online surveys surveys for money scamming scammed phish. phishing tips net neutrality Christmas music songs holiday movie Virginia Cable Telecommunications Association board chairman ODAC; Old Dominion; Shentel; Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Shentel VP earns ACA award at 8th Independent Show

Posted 9 August 2013 12:00 AM by Shentel

SAN DIEGO, July 31, 2013 - The American Cable Association honored several ACA members at this year's 8th Independent Show, presenting awards to recognize their critical support for the trade group and the cause of providing high-quality voice, video and broadband Internet service to hometown America.

"The individuals and companies that ACA honored with its highest awards are exceptionally talented and dedicated, and I salute them all for the accolades that they so richly deserve," ACA President and CEO Matthew M. Polka said. "ACA is a successful organization, now celebrating its 20th anniversary, because ACA Members remain firmly committed to achieving positive public policy results and providing the resources to help us prevail on the key issues."

ACA presented the awards before hundreds of ACA Members attending the 8th Independent Show, which is an annual cable industry forum organized to address key public policy issues facing the independent cable community. The event is co-hosted and organized by ACA and the National Cable Television Cooperative (NCTC), a Lenexa, Kansas-based group that purchases programming and equipment for U.S. cable operators. Follow show news on Twitter at #TIS2013

During ACA's annual Membership meeting, ACA's top honors were presented to the following:

PAC Leadership Award: Armstrong. This award recognizes Armstrong for greatly increasing PAC contribution totals and significantly increasing the number of ACA PAC donors in the past year.

PAC Individual Award: Ronald Duncan, President & CEO of GCI. The PAC Individual Award recognizes enthusiasm, dedication and support for the ACA PAC and for creating a culture of knowledge within the company regarding the ACA PAC's important role and purpose.

ACA Partnership Award: Outdoor Channel. The ACA partnership award is presented to an associate member for demonstrating dedication and support to the mission of ACA and to the success of smaller, independent cable businesses and for encouraging our efforts and contributing to our growth.

Lyn Simpson Grassroots Spirit Award: Chris Kyle, Vice President of Regulatory and Industry Relations, Shentel. The Lyn Simpson Award goes to a company or individual embodying the passion and commitment that Lyn brought to the small operator community in her role as an ACA founding member in the early 1990s. The award underscores the value of commitment, dedication, and sacrifice to the independent cable business.

About the American Cable Association

Based in Pittsburgh, the American Cable Association is a trade organization representing nearly 850 smaller and medium-sized, independent cable companies who provide broadband services for more than 7 million cable subscribers primarily located in rural and smaller suburban markets across America.  Through active participation in the regulatory and legislative process in Washington, D.C., ACA's members work together to advance the interests of their customers and ensure the future competitiveness and viability of their business.  For more information, visit